

Housing Authority of the City of Annapolis

Board of Commissioners

Executive Director/CEO Beverly J. Wilbourn

Sandra D. Chapman, Chair, Deborah A. Johnson, Vice-Chair Jacquelyn V. Wells, Treasurer Christopher Flynn, Secretary Kimberlee Cornett Martin Doordan John Dillon

May 31, 2017

Tara Hargadon, Office of the Mayor City of Annapolis 160 Duke of Gloucester Street Annapolis, Maryland 21401

Dear Ms. Hargadon:

The Honoree Committee is submitting Tamela Spencer to receive the Martha Wood Leadership Award for June, 2017. Ms. Spencer was selected for her dedication to the Annapolis Community shown through strong volunteerism over a period of many years.

Ms. Spencer volunteers one week each month to cook and serve at the Asbury United Methodist Church Soup Kitchen; she cooks/serves at the annual Eastport United Methodist Church-Annapolis Police Department Thanksgiving Dinner held at the Church; she participates in voter registration at the Stanton Center in Annapolis and assists with Christmas activities at the Center. Ms. Spencer also volunteers at Claiborne Place, a home for seniors, going to the store for those who are unable to get there and does the same in the Harbour House Community where she lives in Annapolis.

In addition, Ms. Spencer is the Treasurer of the Harbour House/Eastport Terrace Tenants' Association and is a member of the Sophisticated Grands, a resident senior volunteer group at Harbour House/Eastport Terrace who annually offer a Thanksgiving Dinner to all residents of the Community and initiate other activities such as Community Fun Day held at the Eastport Community Center on Saturday, April 29, 2017.

For a keen sense of Community Volunteerism, it is with pleasure that the Honoree Committee has selected Tamela Spencer as the sixty-ninth recipient of the prestigious Martha Wood Leadership Award.

Sincerely,

The Honoree Committee

